Robotic palletizers
How a robotic palletizer cell works, palletizing robot specs from FANUC, ABB, KUKA, Yaskawa, and Kawasaki, gripper types, rated speeds, and when a robot fits.
A robotic palletizer uses a robot arm to stack products on a pallet. The arm picks cases, bags, trays, or full layers from a conveyor. It places each one in a set pattern until the pallet is full. This page covers how the cell works, real robot specs, grippers, rated speeds, and when a robot fits better than other types.
All speeds on this page are rated by the maker. Your real output depends on your product, pattern, gripper, and line. For a lighter, often fenceless option, see cobot palletizers.
How a robotic palletizing cell works
A robot cell is more than the arm. The OSHA Technical Manual lists four parts of a robot system. They are the arm (manipulator), the controller, the teach pendant, and the end-effector. The end-effector is the gripper on the end of the arm. It is also called end-of-arm tooling, or EOAT. OSHA says the system is “typically integrated with additional equipment, such as conveyors.” See how a palletizing system works for the full line.
A typical palletizing cell has these parts:
| Part | What it does |
|---|---|
| Infeed conveyor | Brings cases or bags to a fixed pick point. It often lines them up and spaces them. See case infeed and accumulation. |
| Robot arm | Moves each pick from the infeed to the pallet. |
| EOAT (gripper) | Holds the product during the move. Types are covered below. |
| Pallet stations | Spots where pallets sit while the robot builds them. Many cells have two, so one can be swapped while the robot works. |
| Pallet dispenser | Feeds empty pallets from a stack into the cell. |
| Slip sheet or tier sheet supply | Holds the thin sheets placed between layers. Some grippers pick them. |
| Guarding | Fences, interlocked doors, light curtains, or area scanners. They keep people out of the robot’s reach while it runs. |
| Controls | A PLC (programmable logic controller) and an HMI (touch screen). The operator picks recipes and patterns there. |
Some grippers handle pallets and sheets as well as product. ABB says its FlexGripper Clamp offers a “Built-in pallet claw and slip sheet picker as an option.” That can remove a separate sheet dispenser from the layout.
The pattern sets where each case goes on each layer. Builders describe it as TI/HI. TI is cases per layer, and HI is layers per pallet. See TI/HI explained. After the robot finishes, the full pallet moves out of the cell. It often goes to a stretch wrapping machine next.


Palletizing robot arms and specs
Most palletizing robots in the table below have 4 axes. A 4-axis arm keeps the gripper level and rotates it around one vertical axis. That suits stacking, where the product stays flat. A 6-axis arm can tilt the gripper too. It can palletize, but it is built for broader work.
Makers rate speed in cycles per hour or per minute. A cycle is one pick and place. It is not always one case. A layer gripper moves a whole layer in one cycle. Each maker also uses its own test motion, so ratings from different makers are not a direct comparison.
The table lists models whose specs the makers publish. It is not a ranking or a full survey. Specs were checked October 2, 2026.
| Model | Axes | Payload | Reach | Rated speed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FANUC M-410iC/110 | 4 | 110 kg | 2,403 mm | “2200 cycles per hour” | FANUC America |
| FANUC M-410iC/185 | 4 | 185 kg | 3,143 mm | Not stated in catalog | FANUC catalog |
| FANUC M-410iC/315 | 4 | 315 kg | 3,143 mm | Not stated in catalog | FANUC catalog |
| FANUC M-410iC/500 | 4 | 500 kg | 3,143 mm | Not stated in catalog | FANUC catalog |
| ABB IRB 460 | 4 | 110 kg | 2.40 m | 2,190 cycles/hour at 60 kg. 2,040 at 110 kg. | ABB data sheet |
| ABB IRB 660-180/3.15 | 4 | 180 kg | 3.15 m | 1,570 cycles/hour | ABB data sheet |
| ABB IRB 660-250/3.15 | 4 | 250 kg | 3.15 m | 1,360 cycles/hour | ABB data sheet |
| ABB IRB 760 | 4 | 450 kg | 3.18 m | 1,500 cycles/hour at 60 kg. 880 at 450 kg. | ABB data sheet |
| KUKA KR QUANTEC PA (KR 140, 180, 240 R3200-2 PA) | 5 (see note) | 140 to 240 kg | 3,195 mm | Not stated | KUKA |
| KUKA KR 700 PA | 4 (see note) | 700 kg | 3,320 mm | “17 work cycles per minute” at 700 kg | KUKA |
| Yaskawa PL190 | 4 | 190 kg | 3,159 mm horizontal | Not stated | Yaskawa Motoman |
| Yaskawa PL320 | 4 | 320 kg | 3,159 mm horizontal | Not stated | Yaskawa Motoman |
| Yaskawa PL800 | 4 | 800 kg | 3,159 mm horizontal | Not stated | Yaskawa Motoman |
| Kawasaki CP180L | 4 | 180 kg | 3,255 mm | 2,050 cycles/hour at 130 kg | Kawasaki product page, Kawasaki release |
| Kawasaki CP700L | 4 | 700 kg | 3,255 mm | Not stated | Kawasaki |
Some notes on the table:
- ABB test motion. ABB’s cycle rates use a “Standard palletizing cycle” drawn on its data sheets. ABB describes it for the IRB 760 as a “400 mm, 2000 mm, 400 mm cycle.” That is up 400 mm, across 2,000 mm, and down 400 mm.
- Kawasaki rating. Kawasaki’s 2015 release gives the CP180L rate at a 130 kg payload. That is lighter than the 180 kg maximum. The axis count comes from Kawasaki’s palletizing brochure. It lists CP models from 110 to 700 kg.
- KUKA axes. KUKA’s page calls the KR QUANTEC PA “five-axis robots” in its text. Its data table is headed “4 axes.” KUKA’s 2013 specification for the earlier R3200 PA models lists “Number of axes 5.” It is hosted on a third-party site. KUKA’s current page for the KR 700 PA does not give an axis count. A KUKA data sheet hosted by a reseller lists “Axes: 4.” Ask KUKA to confirm for your model. KUKA says the KR QUANTEC PA robots “can reach stack heights of over 2,500 millimeters.”
- Yaskawa names. Yaskawa Motoman’s current US pages list the PL series. If a quote names an older MPL model, ask Yaskawa how it maps to the PL series. Yaskawa also lists a 5-axis PL80 at 80 kg.
- Payload includes the gripper. ABB’s FlexGripper Vacuum weighs 70 kg and lifts 40 kg per pick. Together that works out to 110 kg, the IRB 460’s rated capacity. Subtracting gripper weight gives an upper bound only. Check the gripper plus the heaviest case against the maker’s load diagram. It limits how far the center of gravity sits from the wrist, and the inertia. A wide gripper with an off-center case can lower the usable payload. Weight alone is not enough.

End-of-arm tooling types
The gripper decides what the robot can pick and how many items it moves per cycle. Pick it for your product first. Then check its weight against the robot payload.
| Gripper type | How it holds | Good for | Maker example |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vacuum (cups or foam) | Suction on the top face of the product | Sealed cases with a flat top | ABB’s FlexGripper Vacuum lifts 40 kg per pick with “10 separated controlled vacuum zones.” |
| Clamp | Side plates squeeze the product | Heavy cases, cases with weak tops | ABB’s FlexGripper Clamp handles “up to 70 kilograms.” |
| Fork or finger | Tines slide under the product | Bags, open trays, cases | BEUMER’s robotpac fork gripper “processes up to 600 bags per hour.” Its double-finger gripper is rated “up to 1,900 bags per hour.” |
| Bag gripper (claw) | Claws close under a filled bag | Sacks of feed, cement, chemicals | ABB’s FlexGripper Claw is for bags “up to 50 kg.” |
| Layer gripper | Vacuum, clamps, or both, over a full layer | Whole layers of cans, jars, or cases | Schmalz says its SPZ layer gripper handles “layer weights up to 250 kg.” |
Foam vacuum grippers seal around gaps and odd shapes better than single cups. Schmalz offers its FXP/FMP area gripper with either “Suction cups” or “Sealing foam.” Schmalz says the FXP/FMP “phases out and is available until 12/31/2027.”
ABB notes a limit for vacuum. Products must have a surface “on which the vacuum cups can grip.” Porous or loose-flap cases may need a clamp or fork instead. For bag work, see bag palletizers.
Rated speeds from turnkey makers
A turnkey cell is a full system with robot, gripper, conveyors, and guarding. Cell ratings are often given in cases or picks per minute. Here are some published ratings:
- Columbia/Okura dynaPAL. Columbia/Okura rates its dynaPAL at “Up to 28 individual picks per minute” for 100 to 160 kg. It rates the dynaPAL Lite at “Up to 12 individual picks per minute” for 50 to 100 kg. The dynaPAL HD is rated “Up to 8 individual picks per minute” for 160 kg and up.
- Columbia/Okura multi-line. The same page says its arm can “palletize up to four lines at once, and pick up to 25 cases per minute.”
- Honeywell Intelligrated Alvey 950. Honeywell says these hybrid palletizers “incorporate one or more robotic arms to enable flexibility, gentle handling, and precise, repeatable pattern forming at speeds of more than 125 cases per minute.” Models come with one or two robot arms and one or two layer accumulation zones.
In a hybrid, the robot does the layer forming. Layer forming means arranging cases into a full layer before it goes on the pallet.
Single and dual pick-and-place lines
A single-line cell has one infeed and usually two pallet stations. While the robot fills one pallet, a worker or conveyor swaps the other. The robot does not have to stop for a pallet change.
A dual-line cell feeds two product lines to one robot. Each line builds its own pallet. This saves a robot when each line runs below the robot’s rate. Kawasaki’s CP series release says its reach “allows for one robot to be used to cover up to four pallets.”
The rate is shared. If one robot serves two lines, both lines together must stay below the cell’s rated speed. Ask the supplier for a cycle study with both lines running your real cases and patterns.
A gripper that picks two or more cases per cycle raises output without a faster robot. It also adds gripper weight and needs cases lined up in pairs.
When robotic beats conventional
A conventional palletizer forms layers with conveyors, turners, and a hoist. It has no robot arm. See conventional palletizers. Honeywell rates its Alvey 910 to 944 conventional series at 100 to 225+ cases per minute. Columbia/Okura rates its single-robot cells at 8 to 28 picks per minute. Cases per minute can be higher when each pick moves more than one case.
A robot tends to fit when:
- Line speed sits within what one robot cell is rated for.
- You run many SKUs (stock keeping units, or distinct products) and change patterns often.
- One robot can serve two or more lines.
- You stack bags, pails, or odd shapes that a layer former handles poorly.
- Floor space is tight and a fenced cell fits where a large conventional unit will not.
A conventional or hybrid unit tends to fit one or two lines running above a single robot’s rate. To compare all types side by side, see types of palletizers. For mixed loads built from many SKUs, see mixed case palletizing. For cartons, see case palletizers. To unload pallets, see robotic depalletizers.
Safety in a robot cell
Fenced industrial robots run fast and carry heavy loads. People must stay out of the robot’s reach while it runs. The OSHA Technical Manual lists safeguards such as “Presence-sensing safeguarding devices,” “Fixed barrier/perimeter guards,” and “Interlocked barrier guards.”
Robot cells follow ANSI/A3 R15.06-2025, the US adoption of ISO 10218-1 and -2:2025. OSHA 29 CFR 1910.212 requires machine guarding.
Lock out the cell before anyone enters it or clears a jam. Follow OSHA 29 CFR 1910.147. Some routine jam clearing may use documented alternative measures instead, under OSHA’s narrow minor servicing exception. Never bypass guards, interlocks, light curtains, or area scanners.
Teaching the robot needs power on, so lockout is not possible for it. The OSHA manual says the robot should run at “10 inches per second (250 mm/second) or less” during teaching. The programmer holds a 3-position enabling device, usually on the teach pendant. Use this only for tasks that need power.
Safety-rated software limits can shrink the robot’s restricted space. That lets the fence sit closer and the cell take less floor. ABB says its SafeMove saves floor space “by restricting robot motion to precisely what is needed by the application.” FANUC offers Dual Check Safety for the same job. Ask whether the quote includes this option. See palletizer safety for standards, guarding types, and jam clearing.
Cost and next steps
Cell price depends on the robot, gripper, conveyors, guarding, controls, and install. See palletizer cost for public prices and what each one includes. To compare suppliers, see palletizer manufacturers. For a checklist of what to ask, see the buying guide.
Common questions
A robot arm that picks cases, bags, or layers and stacks them on a pallet in a set pattern. The cell around it adds an infeed conveyor, a gripper, pallet stations, guarding, and controls.
Makers rate the arm in cycles per hour. ABB rates its IRB 460 at 2,190 cycles per hour with a 60 kg load. FANUC rates its M-410iC/110 at 2,200 cycles per hour. A cycle can move one case or several, so check what one cycle carries. These are rated speeds, not real output.
Most palletizing arms have 4 axes. FANUC, ABB, Yaskawa, and Kawasaki all list 4-axis models. Some have 5 axes, such as the Yaskawa PL80. A general 6-axis arm can also palletize.
Yes. Columbia/Okura says its robotic arm can "palletize up to four lines at once." Kawasaki says the long reach of its CP series lets one robot cover up to four pallets. Total speed is shared across all lines.
A robot fits mid-range speeds, many SKUs, several lines, bags, and tight floor space. A conventional palletizer fits one or two very fast lines. Honeywell Intelligrated rates its Alvey 910 to 944 conventional units at 100 to 225+ cases per minute.
Prices depend on the robot, gripper, conveyors, guarding, and install. See the price guide for public prices and what quotes leave out.